Elizabeth Cabell Dugdale Award for Meritorious Achievement in Conservation

First awarded in 1974 and named in 1989 for Mrs. Arthur A. Dugdale of the Ashland Garden Club, an outstanding member of the GCV who originated the Conservation Forum. It is presented to an organization, industry or an individual who is not a GCV member for outstanding work in conservation.

RECIPIENTS

2023 City of Lynchburg, Virginia

2022 Save River Farm Committee

2021 The Northern Neck Land Conservancy Leighton Powell, Scenic Virginia

2020 Christine and Frederick Andreae Spikenard Farm Honeybee Sanctuary

2019 The Nansemond River Preservation Alliance

2018 The Piedmont Environmental Council

2017 Blue Ridge Partnership in Regional Invasive Species Management (PRISM)

2016 William S. (Bill) Portlock

2015 Washington and Lee University and Virginia Military Institute

2014 Paul E. Bugas, Jr.

2013 Corbin Harwood

2012 Lynnhaven River Now

2011 Alliance to Save the Mattaponi

2010 Thomas J. Lipton, Inc.

2008 Stanley G. Breakell and Robert G. Burnley

2007 Union Bank and Trust

2006 Miranda Bryant Strutton

2005 William H. Harrison

2004 Dr. Charles K. Price and Robert A. S. Wright

2003 The Friends of the Shenandoah

2002 Dimon, Incorporated

2001 Nancy Ross Hugo

2000 Georgie Hughes Morgan

1999 University of Virginia Foundation

1998 Glen Burnie House Museum (R. Lee Taylor, Curator)

1997 Patricia Jackson, James River Association Kenmore Association, Ferry Farm

1996 Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

1995 Winkler Botanical Preserve

Mrs. Lynn Davis

Mr. T. Ashby Watts III

1994 No Award

1993 Friends of the Rappahannock

1992 Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Company Union Camp Corporation

1991 Ms. Judith Kator Advance Auto Parts of Roanoke

1990 Mr. James Morgan Reynolds Metals Company

The Garden Club of Virginia Award for Meritorious Achievement in Conservation

1989 Mr. Ernest Dickerman

1988 City Council of Virginia Beach Mr. Bruce Brenner, Cycle Systems of Roanoke

1987 Carden family, Potomac Supply Lumber Co. Gordon Shelton

1986 Mr. Linton Beasley Piedmont Environmental Council

1985 Mr. Paul E. Saunier, Jr.

1984 Miss Gisela Grimm Mrs. Lyndon Baine Johnson

1983 Mr. Bartow H. Bridges, Jr. Federated Garden Clubs of Virginia

1982 Xerox Training Center Mr. Theodore G. Scott, Jr.

1981 Virginia Department of Highways

1980 No Award

1979 The Reynolds Metals Company

1978 Dr. E. Spencer Wise, Christopher Newport College Danville Group, Dan River, Inc.

1977 No Award

1976 No Award

1975 Mrs. Hiram M. Ely

1974 Union Camp Corporation