De Lacy Gray Memorial Medal For Conservation

The de Lacy Gray Memorial Medal for Conservation was given originally in 1965 by the Dolley Madison Garden Club in memory of de Lacy Cave Thompson Gray, a member of the Dolley Madison Garden Club and President of the Garden Club of Virginia from 1930-1932. The medal is presented to an individual member, or a member club of the GCV. First awarded in 1965, it recognizes outstanding effort to further the knowledge of our natural resources and to encourage their wise use.

Prior to his death in 1999, Mrs. Gray’s grandson, Walter G. Dunnington, Jr. provided medals to sustain the gift in the foreseable future and contributed generously to the Kent-Valentine House in memory of his grandmother and his mother, Allen Gray Dunnington. 

Past recipients.

Nominations (click here for form) are to be postmarked by March 1 or received electronically by 5 pm on March 1.:

Garden Club of Virginia
Kent-Valentine House
12 East Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23219
email to: 


2023 Mary Louisa Pollard

2022 Carol Carter

2021 Betty Davenport

2020 Anna Galusha Aquino and Meg Turner

2019 Anne Mead Beals

2018 Mary Bruce Glaize

2017 Heidi James

2016 Hollis Stauber

2015 Polly Rowley

2014 Betsy Agelasto

2013 Nancy Dickerson

2012 Virginia (Gina) Farrar

2011 Sallie Sebrell

2010 Catharine Gillliam and Mary Stuart Gilliam

2009 Suzanne Wescoat

2008 Eve D. Fout (1929 – 2007)

2007 Jocelyn Sladen

2006 Rossie Fisher

2005 Martha Wingfield

2004 Rebecca Lea McGovern

2003 Mary Glen Taylor

2001 Fran Boninti

2000 Molly Brown