Dugdale Award For Meritorious Achievement In Conservation

The Elizabeth Cabell Dugdale Award for Meritorious Achievement in Conservation was first presented in 1974, and in 1989 was named for Mrs. Arthur A. Dugdale of the Ashland Garden Club, an outstanding member of the GCV who originated the Conservation Forum. It is presented to an organization, industry or an individual who is not a GCV member for outstanding work in conservation. 

Nominations should be mailed by June 1 to:

Garden Club of Virginia
Kent-Valentine House
12 East Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23219


2023 City of Lynchburg, Virginia

2022 Save River Farm Committee

2021 The Northern Neck Land Conservancy and Leighton Powell, Scenic Virginia

2020 Christine and Frederick Andreae and Spikenard Farm Honeybee Sanctuary

2019 Nansemond River Preservation Alliance

2018 The Piedmont Environmental Council

2017 Blue Ridge Partnership in Regional Invasive Species Management (PRISM)

2016 William S. (Bill) Portlock

2015 Washington and Lee University and Virginia Military Institute

2014 Paul E. Bugas, Jr.

2013 Corbin Harwood

2012 Lynnhaven River Now

2011 Alliance to Save the Mattaponi

2010 Thomas J. Lipton, Inc.

2008 Stanley G. Breakell and Robert G. Burnley

2007 Union Bank and Trust

2006 Miranda Bryant Strutton

2005 William H. Harrison

2004 Dr. Charles K. Price and Robert A. S. Wright

2003 The Friends of the Shenandoah

2002 Dimon, Incorporated

2001 Nancy Ross Hugo

2000 Georgie Hughes Morgan