Massie Medal For Distinguished Achievement

Download Massie Medal Guidelines

The Massie Medal for Distinguished Achievement Medal is the oldest and most prestigious award given by the Garden Club of Virginia.  It was inaugurated in 1928 by Susanne Williams Massie during her presidency and was given by her until her death in 1952.  Since that time it has been given in her memory.

Nomination deadline December 1

CLICK HERE to view a complete list of Massie Medal winners.


2023 Ann Gordon Evans

2022 Victoria Burrell Alexander

2021 N/A

2020 Kimbrough Koontz Nash

2019 Judy Boyce Perry

2018 Glenna Graves

2017 Deedy Bumgardner

2016 Georgia “Bebe” Luck

2015 Sally Guy Brown

2014 Mary Ann Johnson

2013 Sue Thompson

2012 Mary Hart Darden

2011 Nina Williams Mustard

2010 Mina Walker Wood

2009 Margaret Page Bemiss

2008 Mary Lou Seilheimer

2007 Eugenia and David Diller

2006 Bessie Bocock Carter

2005 Betty Gwaltney Schutte

2004 Dorothy Harris Montgomery

2003 Barbara L’Orange Catlett

2002 The Honorable W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr. and Helen Turner Murphy

2001 Martha Dorries Whipple

2000 Katherine Turner Mears

1999 Nancy St. Clair Talley

1998 Mrs. William D. Bayles

1997 Mrs. Henley L. Guild

1996 Elizabeth Perkins Varner

1995 Mary Ramey Cunningham

1994 Mrs. Toy D. Savage, Jr.

1993 Mrs. Robert L. Hopkins, Jr.

1992 The Garden Club of the Northern Neck

1991 Miss Jean Printz

1990 Mrs. Lucius J. Kellam